HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: The Dave Cullen Show

The Orville Season One Review (Spoilers)

1621 ratings | 22746 views
Support my work on Patreon: http://ow.ly/3ymWFu PayPal Donations Welcome. Click here: http://goo.gl/NSdOvK SUBSCRIBE TO THIS YOUTUBE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVb4m_5QHhZElT47E1oODg KEEP UP ON SOCIAL MEDIA: Minds: https://www.minds.com/DaveCullen Gab: https://gab.ai/DaveCullen
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (294)
Destiny Captain (1 month ago)
Penny was great as Cassidy Yates on DS9...
Jim Young (1 month ago)
After this review I binged the whole season. Fantastic! So much better than that other show out now...
DarX Channel (1 month ago)
Yes, it is a great show! The only thing that really, really annoyed me was THE PIMPLE between the eyebrows of Kelly Grayson. With all that money, couldn't you afford a laser skin treatment, miss Adrianne Palicki???
William DeMarco (1 month ago)
God Bless
Alejandro Carrillo (1 month ago)
Sadly I didn't enjoy the comedy of the oreville Wich prevented me to enjoy the show ...
Wilf Stepto (2 months ago)
Cruel Killian cravenly killed the crass and cancerously cross kale-crazed creole krill.
barron8006 (2 months ago)
where can i find the intro song?
Johny Etwer (2 months ago)
I couldn't get past the idea that she cheated on him and he doesn't mind her being there after a short while. I didn't watch the whole thing, only the first episode but I couldn't get past that so I'm not gonna bother.
bruce wayne (1 month ago)
Right there with you on that one, but you did better than I. I couldn't even get past the cheating scene before saying, nope, done. But honestly learning that Braga is attached to this series would've ended it for me anyway. The guy can't write to save his ass, and McFarland can't act to save his.
Steve Smith (2 months ago)
Orveille is like watching Brian the dog from Family guy, acting as a captain of the Starfleet. Occasionally he even uses the shame catch phrases with Brian like "Grooove! I cant believe i said that word". One way or the other, the episodes are related to sex, homosexuality, liberal ideas, feminism, atheism/religion, veganism, etc. Give to the jew a break, innovation is not their thing, that requires a soul which gives creativity. All you are going to see on this show is a regurgitation of what already exists.
David Anderson (2 months ago)
Let's not forget the awesome cameo for Alara's dad
Patrick Musson (2 months ago)
Well, i hope it eventually comes out on DVD or digital release, because I can't access The Orville where I am.
Flavi HD (2 months ago)
I am a true Star Trek fan and I go with The Orville
Nick McCabe (2 months ago)
I really enjoy The Orville. The only thing I didn't like from the pilot was Seth MacFarlane's acting. He was very flat and it stood out like a sore thumb when sharing a scene with real professional actors. But in the time between the pilot being filmed and the other episodes, he improved his acting skills to be able to hold his own. I enjoy the storylines as a whole with the exception of a few times when they get a little too silly.
Misha Mazureka (2 months ago)
Best first season of any Trek series. Already better than Voyager's best. Just needs less intrusive comedy.
MaJieMao (2 months ago)
I'm so happy we have the Orville to carry on Trek, because STD is just that an STD to Trek.
Jeenkz K (2 months ago)
This is the look and feel of how i wish Star Trek would make a new show....and please continue the Star Trek mythos! Not another "why would I care" prequel.
pjamese3 (2 months ago)
The Orville actually found its feet much faster than TNG, DS9, Voyager or Enterprise. They got away from the heavy comedy after the 3rd or 4th episode. It just feels more like Trek than STD
Dark Judge (2 months ago)
I'm interested to hear your thoughts. I think early Braga was excellent when he was a junior writer on TNG. But his later work, especially when he nearly destroyed warp with that enviro-hippy episode that warp was ruining space, was rubbish. His work on voyager weakened the show and in my opinion, he is the cause of enterprise being cancelled early despite its improvement after he left. I had enjoyed Orville until a couple of episodes sucked and reminded me of him. I was shocked to see he was involved and it turns out out 3 of the 4 weakest episodes had him at the helm. I think the guy is an overpromoted SJW leaning failure who ruins everything he touches and I hope Seth gets rid of him asap. He's a hack with limited skills who lives off his CV because he got lucky when surrounded by people with more talent. Rewatch Orville's first season and rank the episodes. I reckon his will make up the bottom of the list. Why us this idiot still finding work? I think Discovery explains it. They found even worse writers and directors so he doesn't seem as bad.
Marcel (2 months ago)
Hell most episodes were clearly based on certain specific Star Trek shows, especially STTNG. I was surprised to find myself actually enjoying this show.
Planetdune (2 months ago)
The comedy ruins it. I don't need comedy in my sci fi. Discovery is better.
lesmoor kelly (2 months ago)
i have just noticed who the doctor is
blindmansg1 (2 months ago)
I just saw the TOS episode you mentioned recently for the first time. The krill look like Jem Hadar to me.
thought2007 (2 months ago)
There was also a ST TNG episode where they encountered 2-dimensional space beings. I forgot what that one was called... I like how to Orville mentioned Flatland in the episode; ST didn't do that.
OriginalTharios (3 months ago)
Honestly, at this point, "derivative" isn't a valid criticism at all. There isn't anything original...at all. No matter what you point at, I guarantee I can find something that did it almost identically, years or decades ago. Plagiarism would be a valid criticism, but everything is entirely derivative anymore...because there aren't any original ideas left. Not any that are good, anyway.
GreenMachine (3 months ago)
Best new show of 2017 imo.
Nomolos (3 months ago)
Excellent analysis, as always. I was going to take exception with the notion of some of it being "too derivative," but then you followed up by saying that it was "hardly a scathing criticism," since it's Star Trek satire...which is practically verbatim to what I was going to say. 😁 I think part of the charm of the show is that they make no pretense about the derivative nature to some of the episodes. That's actually one of my favorite aspects of the series.
gjc21ful (3 months ago)
The last episode like all is star trek tribute. But listen to one of the last lines very very important. The aliens say if it was not Kelly it would have been something else that messed with their culture. It's direct challenge to the logic of the prime directive
TexanerinLondon (3 months ago)
Some levity actually makes it more realistic. 300 years from now, people will still be people (unless SJW trash kills them all off by then, in which case dogs will rule the universe). Sadly, much of sci-fi is written for and to somewhat emotionally lobotomized geeks and nerds (sorry, not all) and so the plots and acting are stiff, robotic, and very 40-year-old virgin.
KnightRaymund (3 months ago)
Yeah I loved the Elara episode but the ending was bad. Very complicated, and she doesn't get in any trouble for pulling all that shit? Come on. But yeah, The Orville's a great show and I can't wait for more.
Ryan O'Cerous (3 months ago)
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was. I don't recall there being much in the way of marketing, so when I caught the first epi, I wasn't sure what to expect. From the premise, like many others I was thinking Galaxy Quest on TV. The first three certainly had growing pains and some rather juvenile humor, if you ask me, but the fourth is when it really took off, and never stopped after that. It definitely had the classed Trek feel to it that STD still doesn't have, and I think it has loads of potential. What I find interesting is how much talent from classic Trek they've poached, far beyond what we see with STD which I think is a big reason why for many, Orville feels "more like Trek than Trek".
JimPlaysGames (3 months ago)
China uses a social credit system? I know nothing about this, can someone elaborate?
Classic Flix (3 months ago)
Good review for a good show.
Paul N (3 months ago)
As a veteran Trekky I really like this show, it's actually better than Star Trek. It'll keep me going until S2 of WestWorld!
Stephen Reid (3 months ago)
You're a fucking joke Dave
retluoc (3 months ago)
Very well put, especially what you said about the pilot episode -- I hate judging shows based on pilots. It also surprised me as to how much better it kept getting.
Papa J (3 months ago)
I said this on your other one. The human characters feel out of place as they act like current day people in space like a million ways to die in the west is modern man back then. The alien characters actually fit the setting which shows how bad the writing is for the human characters. Enjoying the show overall.
Paul York (3 months ago)
Having just seen S1 I have to agree with this assessment. It's a superior show to Discovery, which has that annoying SJW influence. The Orville is the new ST, essentially. And it's funny as well.
Dydreth (3 months ago)
I was very surprised I enjoyed this show. I look forward to more, despite a few mild SJWesque episodes.
RetroZ22Freak (3 months ago)
Thought this show was going to be a Red Dwarf ripoff. Turns out it was genuinely and surprisingly a great mix of comedy and drama. "Alara, you wanna open this jar of pickles for me?"
An American Celt (3 months ago)
Got an add on this video.
Jim Bond (3 months ago)
Wife and I liked this series more and more as the season progressed. Life-long sci-fi and Trek fans. It's fresh to see other than pure emotional and nonsensical leftist social justice in new series. I get the idea of not wanting a Trek clone and agree, but we found the commonalities and references to be more of an Easter egg kind of thing than a wannabe or rip-off.
Darkness1984 (3 months ago)
The orville is just repeats of old star trek storys with more dick and fart jokes.
Bob Frog (3 months ago)
I like it so far. It is more like the original, "Classic" series with its balance of serious and whimsy than the pathetic attempt with the all too aptly named, "STD".
David Westernall (3 months ago)
The Orville was the surprise of 2017 for me, really is a great show.
mark valenzo (4 months ago)
I have to say that I really love this show. The hate that it gets from pretentious critics only makes me love it more. It has character and never takes itself too seriously. With the new star trek being an sjw shitstorm and the new star wars being driven straight into a dumpster fire, I will consider this my consolation prize. It may not be a big win but with scifi in the state its in now I will take any morsel I can get my hands on.
wilson hill (4 months ago)
I have never seen any star trek, so the orville was fresh and fun for me. I heard DS9 is good!
Josef Nagy (3 months ago)
Very good, DS9 is my favorite ST show.
clint harden (4 months ago)
I'm continually amazed that this show could even exist in the same landscape where dark, harsh dramas like Breaking Bad and Game of Thrones are king. The fact that it's on Fox of all places is even more surprising given their history with science fiction shows (yes I'm looking at you Firefly). But the more I think about it, the more I think Fox really owes it to Seth to let them take this wherever they want. He has kept pumping out Family Guy episodes for years despite his repeated desires that it would be cancelled so he can move on to other things. I hope hope hope HOPE that CBS isn't short sighted enough to try and lawyer this show out of existence because it would probably cause some loooong term fan backlash that would harm Trek going forward.
Moontanman (4 months ago)
What? No one os going to even mention the sex scene between the doc and the blob? Had the be the most hysterically funny sex scene ever...
madPaulX (4 months ago)
plagiarism in action .
ABQSentinel (3 months ago)
Parody shows are not considered copyright violations.
D. Kincaid (4 months ago)
I like The Orville. It is a lot truer to Star Trek than that abomination STD. Yes, it has some SJW crap in it, but it doesn't force it down your throat and often doesn't end the way SJWs would like (I presume). Plus, I enjoy the humor.
Bolaji Jabez (3 months ago)
pls STFU
Frank Granovski (4 months ago)
It's retarded.
ben lakh (4 months ago)
This show is so damm good
Mephilis 78 (4 months ago)
Majority rule is by far the most significant and meaningful episode of the season. I'm hoping for more honest critiques of modern society in season 2.
Mephilis 78 (4 months ago)
When trying to remember the one about the multi-versal planet, I find myself mixing up plot points from the multi-phasel planet from VOY. They're so similar that I'm getting their scenes mixed up lol.
Sir James (4 months ago)
I absolutely love the Orville and can't agree more with your evaluation. And it sure as hell beats Battletrek Galactaprize (AKA discovery).
Sasha The Grey (4 months ago)
The biggest thing going for the Orville is that, in an environment of grimdark cynicism, it's genuinely FUN. I liked the first season...but I'm afraid its current quality won't cut it for future seasons. The characters are mostly flat and obvious (the exception being Bortus), the stories are just a bit too much of a re-hash (some re-hash is fine!), and the writing is about as subtle as a brick. The show reeeaaallly needs to get some solid writers on staff (and that includes both sci-fi AND comedy writers - both aspects need work) and delve into exactly what kind of show it wants to be, because as much as the first season settled into a groove as it progressed, I think the place it settled is currently a little static. The second season needs to figure out where it wants to go, not necessarily plot-wise, but thematically. I like Orville, but I want to like it more than is currently possible. Season one was rough, and while the audience, and myself, was willing to overlook that, I doubt viewers will accept that for season two.
Kirk Emmery (4 months ago)
Yates & Yahpit....FOREVER!!! ;p
CO Jones (3 months ago)
Once you go slime, you want it all the time.
Josef Nagy (3 months ago)
Oh yeah
Papa Yuki (4 months ago)
can u do a review on what you think of stargate universe it was 2 seasons and maybe might get more ppl into it and get the show back
João Pedro Costa (4 months ago)
It is funny, interesting, well made and really entertaining, without being too serious. I think it´s awesome, I enjoy it more than STD (I mean the new Star Trek show, not the diseases... WTF were they thinking?)
Garrett Szilard (4 months ago)
I'm overall pleased with Orville. Definitely one of the better comedy shows out there.
Xenomorphine (4 months ago)
Tried to like this, I really have, but I can’t. What they should have done was to refine and bolster the comedy aspect, so that it would be like ‘Galaxy Quest’ as a TV show. Instead, that got hugely toned down and made it become a virtual carbon copy of TNG. Far from creating its own identity, that caused it to do the opposite. Also, what’s with the entire crew being hooked up on 20th century popular culture? The bridge kicking back and watching an episode of (the already out-dated) ‘Seinfeld’, would be like if ‘Top Gun’ had featured a scene where Maverick and the rest were watching an old Charlie Chaplin film together.
Mark Samenfink (4 months ago)
#MeToo
Alakazzam09 (4 months ago)
I like this show because my family and I can sit back, watch it and have fun. It's a strange concept nowadays.
WindyE Bowerstone (4 months ago)
Don't think I found any generation of Star Trek unwatchable UNTIL Discovery >_< At least Cisco has a honey voice.
SkySlasher (4 months ago)
Orville easily not only my favorite show of 2017 but one of my favorite shows of all time and it got me interested in star trek because I wasn’t a big fan when I saw this it’s funny it’s relatable and I’m a sucker for dreams coming though and it’s like that for Seth McFarland
John Sheppard (4 months ago)
what hasn't star trek done?
Joseph DAgostino (4 months ago)
By far the best Trek in a long time. We won't even pretend the other one and Enterprise exist.
Champion Puffa (4 months ago)
I LOVE this show! I loved Next Generation and I love Family Guy. This is the sci-fi show I have been waiting my entire life for! Watch it get canceled now...
Robert Donovan (4 months ago)
I have recently come to think that by attacking and shackling the ST fan film rather than embracing it, CBS/Paramount has inadvertently helped to spur the market for competition just such as this. Orville is showing everybody the way to do it well. It would not surprise me, if the Orville gets a couple more successful seasons, to see a whole lot more ST-like offerings. Star Trek is no longer the only game in town.
Jormangandur83 (4 months ago)
The Krill sort of resemble the Jem'Hadar from DS9.
BarryDennen12 (4 months ago)
It's fucking awful!?!?
Rhine Hard (4 months ago)
You've got to hand it to Seth Macfarlane; the show ticks every SJW box required but then subtly undermines their narrative by pushing the stories to their conclusions.
Steven (4 months ago)
Yes, they copy many episodes from 90s-2000s Star Trek. No, I don't care about that. Yes, it beats Star Trek Discovery.
Miss Ellaneous (4 months ago)
I whole heartedly agree with this. I loved the Orville
Piotr Skłodowski (4 months ago)
You missed talking about episodes "Command Performance", "About a Girl", "Pria" and "Cupid's Dagger" :) still nice review.
FoxxPix (4 months ago)
I can't wait for season two!
Slade Swanson (4 months ago)
anyone else remember the 1973 TV show called The Star Lost. I remember watching it on DvD a few years back. the Orville episode if the Stars should appear is paying direct homage to the first episode of that show. Its a shame that show ended on a cliffhanger, maybe they will do a shitty reboot of it someday. reply with any obscure SI-FI you fondly remember
guardian1326 (4 months ago)
In the episode where they explore 2d space, you forgot to mention that they finally explain how society moved away from a capitalist society to the utopian one. Star Trek never mentioned how that happened. It was just the way it was.
The Ancient Mariner (4 months ago)
The Orville is what happens when you have actual fans like Seth McFarlane helm the project while also focusing on being competent story tellers rather than virtue signalers wishing for a quick buck.
Ryno Horn (4 months ago)
Agreed
James Harold (4 months ago)
Not remotely interested in this series, thank you so much for your review!
Brian Stuart (4 months ago)
They indicated that the show will be more serious next season.
Dalle Smalhals (4 months ago)
Well, IF YOU are a real 'Trekkie'! Then you'll know every single story = bad. As a young viewer of TNG and a few tries at ST: Voyager. The Orville = not bad, not bad at all. BUT at the moment: The Expanse WINS
icthulu (4 months ago)
I always find it curious that Orville is too often compared to the best of Star Trek where reviewers toss digs comparing to each episode vs another Star Trek episode, out of the over 700 produced across 50 years. Always feels a bit unfair, as if MacFarlane will never be able to prove himself because every Trekkie will just say that episode blah de blah had much better atmosphere or writing or whatever and never just appreciate it for what it is. And of course, no offense to you Dave, just something I see out there. A derivative of the Simpson's did it first.
Nathan Cole (4 months ago)
Also the finale borrowed from "Who Watches the Watchers?" on TNG
kris guntner (4 months ago)
The main problem with Orville,or scifi shows in general,is the simple fact that 99.9% of the stories have been TOLD already and all they can really do is variations of old ideas/episodes. It's not their fault decades of stories have been written with few new hard science based theories discovered of late to which they can base an episode around. So we should LOWER or expectations when it comes to original stories and just hold them to making well written and thought out characters in a space setting instead.
Woody R (4 months ago)
The Orville may have gotten a little SJW-y in spots, but it didn't feel like I was being beat over the head with it. I enjoyed it very much overall, and look forward to a second season.
atlaspressed (4 months ago)
It's still to politically correct and Hollywood formulaic for me to be able to enjoy it.
Ross Elliot (4 months ago)
I don't completely agree. While Orville is far better than Discovery we can't say one show is good just because another is woeful. Judged on its own merits I think Orville is a nice show. But it doesn't push any limits and it's certainly not the antidote to SJW, dumbed-down television. The stories are unoriginal and the pacing is often so deliberate it feels labored. I've often found myself watching with one eye while doing something else and not feeling like I'm missing much. And I'm not sure the humor works all that well. As a comedy/light drama, it would have worked far better as a 30 minute show. I'm pretty sure Seth MacFarlane is incapable of straight drama, hence the humor. But this is neither Blue Harvest, which was brilliant, nor is it A Million Ways to Die in the West, which was painful. Instead it's a kludge of both with uneven results. But I applaud the effort. It's competent, well-acted and honest. It would be nice if they tried some truly original stories--it's not like science fiction isn't blessed with them--but methinks the humor will prevent this show from ever getting truly edgy.
Hackfleisch Lord (4 months ago)
One underrated pro argument for The Orville is that i can actually see what's happening unlike in STD where everything is so dark that it doesn't feel believable and you can't see shit.
KnightRaymund (3 months ago)
to be fair, Voyager started the trend of turning off all the lights in an emergency, lol
Josef Nagy (3 months ago)
Bolaji Jabez Nah, 12th was okay though, for STD standards anyway.
Bolaji Jabez (3 months ago)
Watch the 11th episode of STD. Its awesome.
philip slattery (4 months ago)
Only catched 2 random episodes but actually liked them. Really easy watching
D. Kincaid (4 months ago)
philip slattery The past tense of "to catch" is "caught", not "catched".
Nazael Rahl (4 months ago)
Watching Orville makes me feel like I'm watching Next Generation with better effects, less professional crew and without Wesley. Which is awesome and it's way more then Jar-Jar Abrams ever offered. I really want it to continue since it's the best thing that happend to Star Trek in this century while not being really a ST show :D Also Adrianne Palicki and Halston Sage <3
Paul York (3 months ago)
I agree. it's more ST than ST now. ST has lost its way; it has gone to the SJW dark side
Taffy Woolback (4 months ago)
Nah, I'm good thanks.
Culler Collectibles (4 months ago)
You gotta see the Star Trek continues series on YouTube it’s awesome!
Henry Lewis (4 months ago)
I've never been a fan of Seth MacFarlane and most of his work, but The Orville hit all the right notes for me. A great "star trek" series and a great new sci-fi series that I and many others, have been waiting for. Here's hoping for season 2 being longer than 13 episodes and closer to a 22 episode season like shows of old.
Chefzilla72 (4 months ago)
And I'm looking forward to Bortis singing, 'My Heart Will Go On.' It's ironic that the Star Trek satire is more Star Trek than Discovery.
CasInbound (4 months ago)
Is that Sgt. Malarkey I see in the background?
Fred Scalliet (4 months ago)
Finale "Mad Idolatry" also reminds of TNG episode "Who Watches Th e Watchers" ... As for "If The Star Should Appear", it is probably derived from Robert A. Heinlein's brilliant short story "Orphans of The Sky" - a must read !
blackkey1976 (4 months ago)
I have a bad feeling that if this show starts getting popular the execs are going to start forcing more SJW propaganda into it. Notice how the final inhabitants of the phase planet were an Arab and and a black woman?
Josef Nagy (3 months ago)
blackkey1976 You cannot accurately portray billions of people by showing only 2 of them...
DCavalcade (4 months ago)
I guess I'm too jaded. I stopped watching mid-way thru E3. The comedy was silly. The drama was mediocre. The sci-fi did not engage.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.