HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: The Dave Cullen Show

Dystopian Futures: Demolition Man Review

2782 ratings | 46212 views
Support my work on Patreon: http://ow.ly/3ymWFu PayPal Donations Welcome. Click here: http://goo.gl/NSdOvK SUBSCRIBE TO THIS YOUTUBE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDVb4m_5QHhZElT47E1oODg KEEP UP ON SOCIAL MEDIA: Minds: https://www.minds.com/DaveCullen Gab: https://gab.ai/DaveCullen
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (547)
The Dave Cullen Show (3 months ago)
Sorry I of course meant to say West coast, not East coast.
James (1 month ago)
List of best movies 1.Half Baked 2.Demolition Man
ukkr (2 months ago)
Dave I was going to say a few things you missed. Outside of coctau brainwashing sylvesters character to be more docile, and want to knit, etc... and the other with passwords connections, tactics, etc.... I think you got it all. I didn't think about it until just now, but sandra bullock has been in a lot of similar pictures about the follies of perfection, in such cases, The net(The security company ends up being the ultimate villain), love potion #9(Striving for permanent devotion, a person ends up almost becoming a slave), demolition man(the head of a "socialist paradise" is the ultimate villain), and even miss congeniality(The head of a pageant is a murderer). BTW I liked all of those shows! I thought ALL were either funny, or suspenseful. The NET was more suspenseful than funny, but still good. AND, as I said, ALL have a worthwhile message. There is a saying in business that is pretty true. Perfection is the enemy of good. OR, to put it another way, a bird in the hand(all the good you have) is worth two in the bush(striving for perfection), so it is better to protect what you have, and improve, than endlessly seek the perfect and never get anywhere.
Courier (3 months ago)
You should watch "Idiocracy" as well as it also a pretty good satire on current social tendencies.
Cactus Jack (3 months ago)
okay did u find out how to use the sea shells??
Wesley Paul (3 months ago)
And California took it as a instruction manual
Joshua Owens (9 hours ago)
How do you use the three shells?
brrrayday (12 hours ago)
At 6:30 is that Nathan Fillion to the right of Leary?
sightinsight (10 days ago)
in reality salt is what human actually needs (probably most living beings in some quantities)
arte0021 (15 days ago)
did political correctness exist 20 years ago? i thought it was no more than 10 years old.
Thetreetroll (16 days ago)
Everything is Taco Bell
Thetreetroll (16 days ago)
I love this back when movies were good
Shayne Gadsden (18 days ago)
most of the sentiments I agree with except smoking in none smoking area mainly because everyone should be able to do as they wish as long as it doesn't cause harm to someone else including bad words what happened to people bitching about what someone said and then getting told about the sticks and stones
WickedDealer (19 days ago)
Demolition Man is what will happen if the 3rd Wave Feminists and SJW's get full control and why we must tell those cocksuckers to fuck off on a daily basis.
whats in the woods (20 days ago)
Cucktoe the god of the left.
Bad Request (26 days ago)
weak and over sensitive people? wait i thought this was a sci fi movie!
Cuman of Cumania (28 days ago)
I find it entertaining to think that, as a concept for the movie, every other day you can't drink coffee, then a new scientific paper comes out and you can drink it one or two days afterwards, meanwhile the scientists are just swigging tons of the stuff under the guise of studying it when in reality they love coffee and they haven't been able to get nearly as much done as they use to. I feel like that would fit in with the movie with just the general absurdity.
Muhammad Obamastein (28 days ago)
SPOILERS! Holy shit man, at least a little warning in advance. Also the movie gets a bonus star for Sandra Bullock's ass in those tights.
Kevin Batts (1 month ago)
Forgot how awesome this movie was.
P (1 month ago)
It's so nice to see a "future" which isn't completely dominated by society's fixation on cellphones.
Kc Cain (1 month ago)
"We live in a time where some people in our society today consider words to be a form of violence." Too true.
Maske002 (1 month ago)
The best monologue in the worst movie
Ricardo Guanipa (1 month ago)
But how do you use the 3 seashells
Dante Herrera (1 month ago)
How do those three sea shells work?
Doug Bleach (1 month ago)
I've seen this movie before but your description of it prompted me to remember the story of Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden. God said "don't eat the fruit of knowledge of good and evil or you will surly die." So what did the humans do? Of course they ate the fruit. I am not a Christian but I know the creation story in the Bible and I'd imagine that the film makers did too. I don't believe it is human nature to rebel necessarily, but I think that it is human nature to explore possibilities and expand our horizons. Also, you cannot learn without making mistakes and so in order to grow we must first fail. If this were not the case then Adam and Eve would've never ate the fruit and lived perfectly unaware and unambitious forever maybe but that sort of plateaued stagnation does not appeal to me at all. "Destruction breeds creation." ~ Red Hot Chili Peppers.
Charles Dog (1 month ago)
I forgot the guy who comes up with the idea that everyone has to act like a cuck is actually named Cuc(k)teau.
Zara Thustra (1 month ago)
Late to the party I know. But I just wanted to say that this is an inaccurate depiction of the future because a society resembling this would be conquered by neighbouring Islam. "Please violence is against the law" "Allah wills it infidel" *Sharia for all*
Jeremiah Alexander (1 month ago)
“You can’t take away people’s rights to be assholes!” -Simon Phoenix
L0reweaver (1 month ago)
literally just watched the movie, beeing a kid of the 90s I have to say it was a bit cheesy but kinda fit the time I guess? I enjoyed the hell out of it especially all the Huxley references, having read Brave New World just a couple of months ago :D also good series man, really relevant now, I saw 'equilibrium' mentioned further down, that one's a must for topics like this. I'll try and think of more, take care!
El Guiñolo (1 month ago)
Hey, what about the three sea shells ?
The Dougherty (1 month ago)
**TRUDEAU**
Thesavagesouls (1 month ago)
Fuck I love this movie. It got everything a good 80' action movie should have.
sean maga (1 month ago)
damn it i thought this was going to tell me how to use the 3 sea shells...
Judson Joist (1 month ago)
0:35 False. We find out later from Phoenix that they were already dead. 1:02 Cuck-tow is more like it. 2:47 HK G11 prototype. In the movie, it's a stand-in for some sort of energy weapon. 3:29 28mm double-barrel flare gun.
Dwayne Bertrand (1 month ago)
salt is essential for life
DareToBeDeviant (1 month ago)
I love this movie, filled with so many one-liners and it's fun to see the police get their asses kicked by Simon. That electronic swear jar. Pfft. Spartan: "Thanks a lot you shit-brained, fuck-faced, ball breaking, duck fucking pain in the ass." Machine: John Spartan, you are fined five credits for repeated violations of the verbal morality statute. Spartan: (grabs stack of tickets) "So much for the seashells. See you in a few minutes."
keggerous (1 month ago)
this movie is SUPER relevant now.
Gameskool (1 month ago)
"What!?Fuck you!"
If there were only one reason to like this film it would be Bullock saying, "You really licked his ass!" That quote still brings out the 12 year old in me! Edgar Friendly reminds me of the protagonist in Ayn Rand's "Anthem" named "Equality 7-2521" but called himself "Prometheus." There is a point where he wonders why humanity would sacrifice their freedom! I personally wonder that every day.
Mi Les (1 month ago)
I love this movie!
Janet Smith (1 month ago)
When Arnold Schwarzenegger became Gov of California I had a fleeting though he might actually become President. This is one of my favorite movies.
Justme Here (1 month ago)
Don't forget Sandra Bullock was H-O-T in this film
SnazzBot (1 month ago)
Dave Cullen in a nut shell :This film is bad because socialism.
Alexandre Martins (1 month ago)
All the premises of this stupid movie would be OK if they were 300 years, not 30 in the future. As it stands, it's completely idotic. I know it's a sort of parody, but the time frame is so stupid that it completely destroys the illusion for me.
Ameha K (1 month ago)
Love this movie
Alistair Shaw (1 month ago)
Holy shit whats Sir Humphrey doing in america.
Luke M (1 month ago)
Totally underrated, intentionally fun movie. Sandra Bullock and Stallone have great chemistry. And Wesley Snipes is legendary as Simon Phoenix.
Backup f3mh8r (1 month ago)
I always watched this flick back to back with judge dredd, also with sylvester stallone
Michael White (1 month ago)
"Dictators free themselves, but they enslave the people!" -Charlie Chaplin The Great Dictator (1940)
Kenyan onymous (2 months ago)
Love this movie How to use 3 seashells tho?
Nick Usalis Knight (2 months ago)
Only three things stick out. First the mention of toilets, very very rare for sci fi. Second Denis Leary basically doing his stand up act, and third all restaurants being Taco bell in the future. That was funny
Don Corleone (2 months ago)
Every time the line is mention "We're the police, we're not trained to handle this level of violence" I think of Europe.
Hakai Li' Sharo (2 months ago)
One of the best movies ever made.
the gameing wolf g (2 months ago)
Snowflakes need to watch that movie
Scott Davenport (2 months ago)
Wow Sylvester Stallone was master chief a.k.a. Spartan 117 John
LanIaFortroSha (2 months ago)
I just wish they'd left in the part where he finds his daughter living among the Scraps. (I read the book; it was cool.) She's actually in the movie for about two seconds: Spartan protects her during the 'Friendly meeting' when Phoenix starts his attack. IIRC, she's got her father's old police shield on her belt; which is how it's described in the book too.
THX-0381 (2 months ago)
This movie has predicted the future and its already becoming a SJW dystopian nightmare.
daveruda (2 months ago)
A society without violence and murders sounds pretty sweet. Were empathy and kindness towards people are rewarded instead of greed and selfishness. The movie would make the immature think its bad...but in reality it seems kind of nice.
E.L.Dorado (2 months ago)
Liberals want us all to be like these banana broccoli shake drinking pussies. They are trying to take away our guns,constantly shaming men for 'toxic masculinity',trying to police our speech and many other things like telling us what or what not to eat.(soda taxes,pushing their religion of veganism etc.)
psycicmindpowers (2 months ago)
Loved this movie! Very relevant!
FFcecil1991 (2 months ago)
It's everything you say, but it (the film) is also meant to parody 80's action films
rAdiant Jet (2 months ago)
I like this movie but after watching your review, it looks like this is what our government wants society to be!! I mean if you brought someone don't 1993 to now it would almost the same thing with wanting to control words and the demonization if anything manly!!
Brian Alex (2 months ago)
Sadly the way this PC feminist conservative country going this movie might be a reality I really hope not if we change things now
Toki Wartooth (2 months ago)
I think "Sandra" Bullock is likely a trans.
PenileAugmentation (2 months ago)
This was probably my favorite movie at the age of ten (back around 2001), and I'm proud to say that even back then I noticed the parallels it had with the real world. Canada's school system has been like this for as long as I can remember.
Hedy Lamar (2 months ago)
I love the way Sandra keeps looking at Stallone in a puppy like manner. I would have.
El Mostrito (2 months ago)
It spawned one of the greatest lines in movie history: "We're police officers, we're not trained to deal with this type of violence!"
El Mostrito (2 months ago)
This movie, along with Idiocracy, has been exposed as a documentary.
ricosuave70 (2 months ago)
Talk about prophetic...#1984
LiterallyPuni (2 months ago)
It wouldn't be a Denis Leary speech without continuous "Okays?"
Darth Bane (2 months ago)
It's not a bad movie.
Dds211 (2 months ago)
I love it when they say, "murder death kill". Its like when people today say, "gun shootings". Next they'll be saying, "firearm bang-bang shooty-ings".
Andrew Williams (2 months ago)
And this utopian vision was very white as well. Haha. I guess it's the western nations going back to their roots of whiteness to improve things? "Let's get rid of all the blacks, browns, and yellows, so that we can finally have our socialist utopia... without the horrors of pluralism or social division! Segregation for all!" It's too easy to make imperialist and supremacist comments and/or jokes about this film. I'm sure it was unintentional at the time, but I think it is especially amusing with the current push to remove whites by mass immigration in Europe, or the push to vilify and neuter all whites in the USA and Canada. Regressive liberalism: keeping everyone at the lowest common denominator which is at the very top, whilst promoting division with diverse sameness for all! If that doesn't make sense, well, then that says everything about it.
DonJuan Yates (1 month ago)
Andrew Williams most movies/tv shows are predominantly white...way to read too far into something.
Matt Woodard (2 months ago)
Oddly enough some of the things said in this review are very similar to stuff from the TED-ED "How to recognize a dystopia".  https://youtu.be/6a6kbU88wu0
bonkoboy (2 months ago)
Not too many movies have explored the Utopian version of the future, which is, in a way, the opposite of the more common post-apocalyptic theme. Instead of showing us how our sins or bad behaviors may lead to our destruction, this film shows how equally horrific the future could be if we never sinned at all. Putting all it's apparent cheesiness aside, I think this movie does really well at reminding us that human culture will necessarily rot under under any system that prevents individual expression, regardless of whatever benign reasons we may have for instituting it. Hollywood has a cowardly tendency to remake movies that were already perfect, but instead I think this one is a better choice: Not only could it be improved upon, but it's subject matter is becoming increasingly relevant as well. Maybe as a miniseries?
w41duvernay (2 months ago)
Cullen, are you ON CRACK? Demolition Man wasn't a good film? I love it, especially the battling of Snipes and Stallones' characters. It also asked a good question, about P/C culture and personal freedoms of European societies.
Aydon Grant (2 months ago)
It predicted some future events.
0mega Zer0 (2 months ago)
I had a face to face discussion with a person that thought words where a form of violence. TLDR: We started out with insulting words to get a degree which is hurtful out of respect of the conversation, we felt good after to vent insults. We had kind of good understanding between the two of us as he said "Okay your turn to start the next part." with a genuine smile. With the same genuine smile, I started the actual violence topic. Without a word I punched him in the face without warning, sending him to the ground where I pinned him down and began slowly pounding his face in until he got the point. When it was over we both come to the conclusion that physical acts of violence hurt and matter more than words :P
TheZXKUQYB (2 months ago)
Sidenote: Salt causes High Blood Pressure if you take too much. False, except for the small pct of the population whos body cannot regulate the Na ions properly. Same with too much Sugar doesnt give you diabetes, you have the predisposition. Too much salt in most, just make their food too damn salty for the avg person and the other fat usually.
Robert Giggie (2 months ago)
Literally the best dystopian scifi since 1984
gsxr1000gixxer (2 months ago)
UNNATURAL SELECTION finally takes over the human species.
NYPATRIOT (2 months ago)
Hey Dave can you review Idiocracy next, I believe that film is also a good example of things to come.
Djarra (2 months ago)
Most of 'Demolition Man' is lifted from the Hungarian novel 'Fight of the Dead' by Nemere István which was a more serious work that used Science Fiction to protest Soviet attempts to quash Hungarian culture. 'Demolition Man' also lifts from William Shatner's Tek World novels.  Interestingly a remake of 'Demolition Man' has been mooted while Amazon Europe are making a series based on 'Fight of the Dead' and Netflix are making a series based on Shatner's novels.
Pyx (2 months ago)
Dennis Leary expertly plays the part of Dennis Leary in this film.
sara (2 months ago)
but salt isn't bad for you it's bioloigcially requred in the right amounts
LadyJAtheist (2 months ago)
lol, I LOVE this movie!
Garlarg (2 months ago)
I don't know how much well-known story is what I want to tell you. Here in hungary there is a once popular sf writer Nemere István. In 1986 was published one of his book with two novellettes: "Holtak harca" and "Játszma tízmilliárdért" ("Fight of the Dead" and "A Game for Ten Billion"). The first one is about an anti-terrorist leader. His terrorist archnemesis kills a bunch of people including the anti-terrorsit's family then he escapes to the future by hybernating himself. The a-t leader follows him too to a future where there is no crime anymore (at least not officially) and people are innocent and unsuspecting. The other story is about a giant asteroid rumbling toward Earth, then the world goverment gathers a motley crew of life sentenced convicted criminals to a space mission. The mission is to blow a giant atomic blast on an other smaller asteroid and crash it to the big one to detour it from the way of Earth. So there was a slight uproar among the Hungarian Nemere fans when Demolition man and Deep Impact/Armageddon was published.
Richard Pascall (2 months ago)
Demolition Man: The SJW/Third Wave Feminist Utopia.
Leonidas Thanatos (2 months ago)
Wait... What's that sound off in the distance? "PENIS!" I think it's the mating call of the lesser spotted Stallone.
BK-201 The Spliffsta (2 months ago)
Yeah, I already live my life as the Edgar Friendly character. Rat burgers anyone?
Mistah Susan (2 months ago)
BK-201 The Spliffsta with a side of freedom?
plezx29 (2 months ago)
I think it's a good movie actually, the jokes maybe "cringe worthy" but that it is a fictional movie
A.R.H. (2 months ago)
Hello,oh I am old! I have seen this movie at the theater { I am 42 years old but I can’t believe that 1993 was 25 years ago 🤨. Oh we living basically like the people do in Demolition Man aka SJW!
Quasi Terrible (2 months ago)
Those language fine machines remind me of speed cameras. How are those things legal?
Luke Wilmer (2 months ago)
Message of the movie is good. Presentation is cringe af.
Jerk (2 months ago)
Still though, one of my favorite jokes of all time.. "EAT RECYCLED FOOD, ITS GOOD FOR THE ENVIRONMENT AND 'OK' FOR YOU!"
demomanchaos (2 months ago)
So has anyone figured out how the hell the three seashells work?
Mistah Susan (2 months ago)
demomanchaos scoop, spread, and scoop.
Metal Quintessence (2 months ago)
I have to slightly disagree with some parts, mainly namely 4:56, I think it's really not so bad movie AS A WHOLE. Not sure what exactly you find poorly directed, not saying it's perfect or anything, As for the cheesiness, sure, there is some, regardless whether intended or not, I think it's not so much out of place that it's annoying tho. Other than that, I've recently noticed that unlike some other movies, even "cult classics" like Blade Runner, eventho it was made considerably earlier in 1982 to be precise, it still failed to predict what the world would be around the current year, while the Demolition Man, other than pin pointing quite well the political tendencies and consequences, some of which are gloomily real today, also managed to be almost completely spot on regarding technology. Unlike with Blade Runner (and MANY other movies depicting exact future years), DM actually got many things quite right. Like the flat screens, which again for BR was maybe way too far in the future for 1982, eventho you can find variuos display technologies already and way before BR like flat screens and even holograms, so... And considering that even when DM was released the CRT TV's and Monitors were still the not only the norm, but also they were still comprising any top tier monitor tech pretty everywhere, at least as far as the consumer market was concerned. 1993 a flat screen was pretty much unheard as far as consumer graded products went, most TV's were actually still curved and the so-called "flat" CRT displays were perhaps just then starting to flood the market, if at all. I can't exactly remember, I was way too young at that point, and eventho I'm relatively young still, that is a lot of time and memories it seems. :P I'll need more bearings and research to be sure. Either way, it's really impressive that they not only predicted such techs like flat LCD displays being the norm and all the other tech like wireless and the video conference abilities that we have today and many other aspects, but they alsdo didn't overshoot things, with the exception of all cars being electromobiles, altho they could've easily blown it completely with the stuff like Flying Cars, which might well one day happen, but we are still way far from this phase. BUT... then again the movie actually takes place not in the actual current year 2018, but 2032. So, on the other hand, they still might have gotten that about right too. Given the rate with which the hybrid technology goes with cars, 10 years from now they may have already replaced most cars with electromobiles, so I guess we'll just have to wait and see. Hopefully most of the world won't be that dystopian. :P
laiosto (2 months ago)
My favourite part of this movie is Sandra Bullock's magnificent arse in the tight cop yoga pants.
MingTuck Chung (2 months ago)
One of my favorite Wesley Snipes movie.
True antitheist2006 (2 months ago)
I doubt we'll have a future like this, I think the SJW culture we have now is just another growing pain phase we'll get over.
FromtheHerts81 (2 months ago)
Like Jules Verne, this movie correctly predicts where man is heading in numerous ways.
Derek Beck (2 months ago)
God I love this movie. Oh and a 90s movie that is cheesy? What did you expect from the era of cheesy films
catsspat (2 months ago)
I actually own a Blu-ray of this. It was only $7.60 (+tax). It's one scary movie, in that it is where we're headed.
Jesse12489 (2 months ago)
I can say one thing, Taco Bell.
blackphoenix63 O (3 months ago)
how do you use the three shells? I never did find out.
patrick smith (3 months ago)
I liked demolition man

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.